Laziness

When I started doing this I promised myself I wouldn’t go more than 2 weeks without posting something (barring going on holiday or the like).

Well, maybe I was a little hasty in that.

I have been very slack as of late as I plough my way through my latest attempt at a novel (now nearing its end, and the reason why I’m here – I know how it’s going to end, I just have to get the characters into the pipes to kill the mother of all monsters and yet still have the cats fighting well… let’s call it temporary writer’s stasis and leave it at that). But, really, there’s been very little to report.

I haven’t been sent any links I feel worth sharing in a while.

I haven’t had any more acceptances (this time of the year I have come to realise is when everything slows down, normally until February some time), and there hasn’t been any more anthologies released as of yet. I was going to go on some sort of a rant about the appalling grammar I see more and more of online, or maybe on the fact that Australia’s new federal government thinks of education as something for the “upper classes” only.

But what’s the point? That’s not what people read this for (if the emails I get are any indication). So this is just a brief missive to say that I am still alive and writing, and I hope that in the next week or so the first draft of the next novel will be completed, ready to be put away until such a time as I have forgotten all about it and decide to actually edit it properly.

To my American friends, hope you had a good Thanksgiving; to everyone else, hope you are enjoying your holiday seasons as the year winds down.

And keep on writing.

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by tragon11 on December 7, 2013 - 12:37 am

    You’re making the right choice, finishing a novel over blogging. My productivity fiction-wise has taken a hit since I joined Facebook. I joined to help promote Vampire Siege at Rio Muerto. It’s been a useful way to reach people. But it’s like getting caught in the grip of an octopus– very entangling, would be the best way to put it. Time spent on line is time away from writing. But I’ll get back on schedule. After finishing the book, I figure I needed some down time anyway. I went through seven or eight drafts before I was satisfied with it, and it left me exhausted. Now the holidays upon us, time to chill out. Best of luck with the book.

Leave a Reply

alicejblack

Author Alice J. Black blogs

Solarwyrm Press

Publishing with a focus on diversity

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Sharon Rawlette

Memoirist. Essayist. Philosopher.

Confused Ramblings

Another site by a writer.

Acedusa

Fiction

Bufton's Blog

The official weblog of Kevin G. Bufton

stacey jaine mcintosh

author of celtic, medieval, gothic and fairytale inspired fiction

Gardendog's Blog

gardens, dogs, thinking all go together...

85% Sports Cardinal Blog

Just another Cardinal site

melleckie

Regular updates about Mel, her ongoing trials and tribulations, political views and activisim as she seeks Equality for ALL!

Z At the Movies

It's not that hard being a film crickett.

Tia Reed

Speculative Fiction Writer

AL'S BLOG

The web log of "Weird Al" Yankovic

Stephen Liddell

Musings on a mad world

West End

Publications Independent Consortium

sawriterscentre.wordpress.com/

fostering, developing and promoting writers and writing

Literary.Land.of.Alysia

Write Your Own Story

