Links And News

Some news – three more rejections came in the past week.

Spandex Dreams, my wrestling novel which I don’t think I’ve discussed here, was rejected by the Canadian publisher who asked for it. I have written to another Canadian publisher about it as well, but they don’t do fiction by non-Canadians, and I am grateful that they got back to me quickly. The rejection, by the way, was two lines and as generic as they come. And it didn’t even have the standard “we wish you the best in selling your work” (or words to that effect) at the end.

Gorgon With The Wind was also rejected, but only because, and I quote, “…by coincidence, we recently took an option on a novel with the premise that the Greek Gods were living lives in twenty-first century America.” There was also a discussion of my sense of humour and some of the slightly confused elements of the story, but they liked it, yet my timing was bad. *Sigh!*

Valentine’s Day reached the third level of productivity. First, they read the synopsis and the first three chapters, and so they asked for the whole book. Second they read the whole book and said they liked it and they sent back the manuscript with a heap (I mean a huge heap, maybe two hundred or so) tracked changed throughout that I was to accept or decline as I saw fit, but if I declined, to give reasons (using the note function in MS Word). This I did and sent it back. Next, they went through and seemed okay about what I had done, but they asked for some explanation of motivation for a couple of the nasty incidents/deaths. I understood and offered to extend and change these. After a month they decided to pass on it. No reason given, but a lot of work done which, I hope, has made the manuscript a better one.

SO… Rejection Total: 163+3 = 166

Now, some links.

First, some of mine.

The following are from Inside Pulse:

After the discussion of fan fiction, it was pointed out to me that I had already posted fan-fic of my own, and so I followed this up with another fan-fic story of my own. Yeah, pot, kettle, black, I know.

And then there is a discussion of wrestling physics and their relation to the real world. This led to a second look at various things wrestling and how the real world and wrestling may not share the same bed.

And then we come to Weekend Notes:

I went to Bendigo in central Victoria for a brief holiday, but came away with an article on a nice reserve.

And then we took the kids to Brighton and saw some wonderful sculpture.

In both of these, the photos are one I took, so apologies.

And now some links that I feel are really worth sharing:

From the Terrible Minds blog by Chuck Wendig, 25 Hard Truths About Writing And Publishing. Quite the wonderful read about the truth of what lies out there, and why writing is not the most glamorous or easy of vocations one can undertake.

And then there is Lorna D. Keach’s magnificent Ten Horrible Writer Habits on the Dark Matters blog. I have come across quite a few editors that need to read this as well as most writers.

There are some great things being written out there about writing for writers. Hardly any of them are “everything’s hunky dory and you’ll be the next JK Rowling, you’ll see” sort of sycophantic musings. Quite a few, in fact, are very dark and foreboding and if you didn’t love writing or felt that you needed to do it, you’d just give up on the spot. And then there’s informative and instructive ones that fill a need, like the two I’ve given here.

 

 

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by eggdrop on February 3, 2013 - 3:32 am

    Hi! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give
    a quick shout out and tell you I genuinely enjoy reading through your blog posts.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same subjects?
    Thank you!

  2. #2 by Lorna D. Keach on March 5, 2013 - 3:55 pm

    Thanks for the shoutout! And keep your chin up; Gorgon with the Wind sounds like a cool book. ^_^

Leave a Reply

alicejblack

Author Alice J. Black blogs

Solarwyrm Press

Publishing with a focus on diversity

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

Sharon Rawlette

Memoirist. Essayist. Philosopher.

Confused Ramblings

Another site by a writer.

Acedusa

Fiction

Bufton's Blog

The official weblog of Kevin G. Bufton

stacey jaine mcintosh

author of celtic, medieval, gothic and fairytale inspired fiction

Gardendog's Blog

gardens, dogs, thinking all go together...

85% Sports Cardinal Blog

Just another Cardinal site

melleckie

Regular updates about Mel, her ongoing trials and tribulations, political views and activisim as she seeks Equality for ALL!

Z At the Movies

It's not that hard being a film crickett.

Tia Reed

Speculative Fiction Writer

AL'S BLOG

The web log of "Weird Al" Yankovic

Stephen Liddell

Musings on a mad world

West End

Publications Independent Consortium

sawriterscentre.wordpress.com/

fostering, developing and promoting writers and writing

Literary.Land.of.Alysia

Write Your Own Story

